Introducing a high-performance trawl

Galician fishermen are developing a triple-mesh trawl to catch even more species, increase the volume of fish caught and optimise each trip.

  • 352% Funding
  • 9 147 206 € Pledged
  • 1712 Days left
  • -1 Participant
  • -1€ Pledged
  • -1 Day left

Galician Fishermen Union - The high performance "triple mesh" trawl

Trawler man, that's one tough job indeed: the abrasive dampness of trade winds, the haunting shanty of engines, the constant waltz of boats, manoeuvres that leave you shattered and bruised, the enduring fear of the accident. Not to mention those trips out in the open sea, as dark as danger, those take their toll on the body. In order to limit outings, Galician fishermen have come up with the idea of a high performance trawl called the "triple mesh” trawl. By combining different net mesh sizes and a devastating dredge, they hope to maximise the volume of fish they will catch and consequently preserve their health. Considering the anticipated results, the hardest thing will be to find new schools of fish. But our fishermen have proved so resourceful so far, this shouldn't be a problem for very long.

The triple mesh trawl will spare no species.

Campaign : Oceans

Oceans make up 70 percent of Earth surface. They are the cradle of an unbelievable and little known biodiversity. They are a source of life, of survival sometimes... However, today, they are on the verge of exhaustion.
Why? Because we forgot what is the most important. We are so used to catching the fish and seafood we like without any limitation and as we cannot see the bottom of the ocean, we assumed oceans had no limits.
And we forgot the obvious: fishing is not a manufacturing industry, it is snatching wild animals from their habitat. When a particular species is overfished, it cannot maintain a stable level because the amount of fish caught outnumbers the amount of fish born.

This race for growth does not care about oceans and the people depending on them.

Commercial fishing is sucking the oceans dry. Almost 2 species out of 3 are overfished, or on the verge of being overfished, in European waters. Yet, our leaders, our politicians are not offering any good solution even though the right solution is right there in front of them, it already exists!
On every coastline, local fishermen already have sustainable fishing practices. Artisanal fishing is a type of small-scale and usually coastal fishing using passive fishing gear and techniques (fish traps, longline fishing) and first and foremost, it remains on a human scale. The fruits of fishermen’s labour directly benefit local communities. They have a dream for the future of their occupation and the future of the oceans: fish less, fish better.

They should be helped and supported. It just takes a little ambition, a little passion, a little political courage... It is time!

Fabrication d’un chalut haute performance

Les marins pêcheurs galiciens imaginent un chalut triple lame pour capturer un maximum d’espèces, décupler le volume des prises et optimiser les sorties.

  • 257% Des financements
  • 6 687 947 € Récoltés
  • 1165 Jours restants
  • -1 Participant
  • -1€ Récolté
  • -1 Jour restant

Galician Fishermen Union - Les pêcheurs mettent le turbo

Marin-pêcheur, voilà un métier pénible s’il en est : la décapante humidité des alizés, la lancinante fanfare des moteurs, l’incessante valse des bateaux, les meurtrissantes douleurs des manœuvres, la constante peur de l’accident. Sans parler de ces sorties au large, noires comme le danger, qui vous dérèglent le corps. Pour les limiter, les pêcheurs galiciens ont imaginé un chalut haute performance, dit chalut « triple lame ». Associant des filets de mailles différentes et une drague dévastatrice, ils espèrent ainsi décupler le volume des prises et préserver conséquemment leur santé. Vu les résultats escomptés, le plus difficile sera de retrouver vite de nouveaux bancs à rafler. Mais vu l’imagination de nos pêcheurs, ce problème ne devrait pas, lui non plus, exister bien longtemps.

Le chalut triple lame n’épargnera aucune espèce.

Campagne : Océans

Les océans représentent 70% de la surface de la planète. Ils sont le berceau d’une biodiversité incroyable et encore méconnue. Ils sont source de vie, de survie… Mais ils sont aujourd’hui au bord de l’épuisement.
Pourquoi ? Parce que nous avons oublié l'essentiel. Nous nous sommes habitués à puiser sans limite poissons et fruits de mer que nous aimons manger. Parce que les fonds des océans nous sont invisibles, nous avons imaginé qu’ils étaient sans limites.
Nous avons oublié des évidences : la pêche n’est pas une industrie de production : c’est un prélèvement d’animaux sauvages dans leur milieu de vie. Si la pression de pêche sur un stock de poisson est trop forte, il ne peut pas se maintenir à un niveau stable car le prélèvement de poisson est supérieur au nombre de nouveaux poissons issus de la reproduction du groupe

La quête de croissance méprise les océans et les populations qui en dépendent

La pêche industrielle est la première à piller les ressources des océans. Près de 2 stocks sur 3 dans les eaux européennes sont surexploités ou au bord de la surexploitation. Mais nos dirigeants, nos politiques ne proposent pas de bonne solution. Et pourtant, la bonne solution est là, sous leurs yeux, elle existe déjà !
Sur toutes les façades maritimes d’Europe, des pêcheurs artisans pratiquent une pêche durable. La pêche artisanale est une pêche de petite échelle, le plus souvent côtière, aux techniques de pêche pour la plupart basées sur des engins de type dormant (casiers, palangres) et surtout à dimension humaine. Le fruit de leur travail bénéficie directement aux communautés locales. Leur souhait pour l’avenir des océans et pour l’avenir de leur profession aujourd’hui menacée : pêcher moins mais pêcher mieux.

C'est eux qu'il faut valoriser, c'est eux qu'il faut soutenir. Un peu d’ambition, un peu de volonté, un peu de courage politique … il est temps !